top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaitie perry

Topics Engaged Couples Need to Discuss



"Decisions, decisions, decisions...Everyone is getting excited that you are getting married! It’s a big step in your life with new challenges, big hopes. Whoever had fun planning a wedding, congratulations! For me it is so stressful that I just want to cry sometimes... but the big day is coming and I am still very excited.


The most important thing for you and your other half to discussing is the amount of money you are planning to spend, I think everyone could agree that this thing can get easily out of control. Get the idea on how much you both want to spend on the wedding.


Another big thing you have to discuss is how both of you imagine the wedding day. It's a big step for both of you so make sure that the other half is happy with the decision. Deciding on the date is very important. Before I was planning my wedding I knew the date I wanted to get married! Unfortunately, it didn’t work out for me and I had to move it the week later. Obviously Its nothing bad, but as the bride, it might be stressful as it was for me, so as soon as you both decided on the date, you can start booking places and it's gonna be so much easier!

Another thing which is important to mention is that you must discuss the guest list! You don’t want to see people you don’t like at your wedding do you? When you have the people you plan to invite on a list, you can then roughly see how much money you are going spend on the reception. Have a decision on if you are going to invite kids as well. Some people don’t want to take them to the parties so they would be able to enjoy your wedding to the fullest without worrying what the little ones are doing.



I would definitely recommend making a list on what to do and share with your fiancé the to-do list so you can let him be involved as much as you and him like. I was quite lucky at this point because my fiancé let me plan everything as I wanted. But the to-do list helps us to stick with a plan so we can be sure what to do next and not to miss something important.

Lots of love"

-Itsaleon (IG)


Wedding planning is tough! But there are even more things engaged couples need to speak over! Such as the future, and guidelines as well as wishes. Something me and my fiance talked about was how many if we wanted children. Speaking about stuff like that is necessary just in case it gets complicated down the road and you didn't talk about it. Another important topic would be the topic of handling finance and discussing responsibilities. For example, who pays what/who does what. Also, talking about ground rules such as what does one expect of the other and vice-versa. Honestly, I could go on all day, but those are the most important main topics!

List of topics summarized: finances, guest list, location, responsibilities, children or no children, etc.


Before I end this article I just want to remind those that came from Instagram that there will be an article featured everyday! If you would like to contribute or be featured use the hashtag #igweddingseries! Those of you who stumbled upon this article just know this is part 1/day 1/post 1 of the Wedding Series! Go check out @caitiecat524, this series will be going on until Friday, May 4th, 2019! There is so much content to explore!

23 views0 comments
bottom of page